Week 2 – Research Topic/Question

To start off with this blog post, I would like to say I completely agree with Luker’s (2008) theory that “writing engages a very different part of the brain than reading and talking do…” (p. 21). I find that I am able to express myself easily through writing and I guess that I could say that I feel more comfortable writing out my thoughts than speaking them, especially when I say something, and I realize that it did not come out the way I intended it to. Through writing, I am able to expand or even change on my already written out ideas and thoughts, especially when certain ideas do not come to me right away. Thus, it is a lot simpler and efficient when I have these initial ideas and statements already documented that I could always revisit later (this could be why diary and journal writing is still a common practice today).

I found Luker’s exercise to be quite challenging which some of my fellow bloggers have already mentioned. The most challenging part of this exercise, particularly for me, is completing it within a short time limit, yet I was successfully able to put down a lot of enlightening content. The number of ideas that I put down were beyond what I thought I was capable of prior to this exercise. Therefore, I should embrace challenges that come my way and not dismiss them or think that it will turn out unsuccessful. This exercise was not only helpful by exploring my research interests and questions, but also a way to reflect on my personal weaknesses and learn from them.

As some of you may know, I come from a Children’s Studies background and so I clearly have an interest in children and more specifically children’s librarianship, which some bloggers have previously mentioned their similar interests in this field as well. With this in mind, my research interests and questions surround the various impacts on children from their interaction with libraries. For instance, the first word I wrote down was censorship, and prior to this exercise, I was already interested in this issue as it was discussed in a few of my children’s literature courses in my undergraduate studies. However, I would like to explore further in this issue and more particularly in the increasing role of technology and how censorship has extended into the realm of the Internet. There are various parental controls and surveillances used nowadays and at times without the children’s knowledge. This idea is quite frustrating and I am not certain how others (not just in this class) feel about this, and this should be further investigated looked as this is becoming an increasing practice with the advancements of technology allowing adults to adapt to their needs, and not specifically to their children’s. I am interested in this issue as a research topic; however, I am not certain how I would formulate my ideas into a question.

I also came up with another area to focus on that would be quite interesting to explore further, but still in relation to censorship. From my various children’s literature courses I studied in the past, I realized that there are a number of books about dilemmas and questions that children increasingly face in their daily lives, such as bullying, sexuality, racism. However, many of these books have been banned from libraries and bookstores. If these books are aimed at children and focus on issues and challenges they face, then why do they not have access to them? Why should it be up to the adults to decide what books children can access when these books do not concern them? I am again not too sure how to formulate a research question based off of these concerns, but this is another topic that I would like to examine further.

References

Luker, K. (2008) Salsa Dancing into the Social Sciences: Research in an Age of Info-glut. Cambridge: Harvard University Press.

Tracy Matos

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized, Week 2

Leave a Reply

