Computer-Drawn Daisy

I have zero drawing ability. I have always wanted to draw a daisy though. Therefore, I truly attempted what I’ve been trying to do since in grade school–draw a daisy with even petals. It didn’t work out. I decided to do a computer drawn daisy then.

My daisy is around the original research query about YA fan fiction ethnography.

The petals:

  • Composition of YA fanfiction sources
  • Mainstream perception of YA fanfiction
  • Methods of gaining truthful information from writers
  • Numbers of teens interested in writing vs. those writing in a fanfiction community
  • Method of being a non-biased participant
  • How YA fanfiction writing can benefit teen library programs
  • Public and academic perceptions of fanfiction writing
  • Motivations to write YA fanfictionresearch daisy
5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Computer-Drawn Daisy

  1. Hi Brooke,
    I am really curious about your research interest – very original! I am wondering about the legalities of bringing fan fiction into the library and whether this might prove to be an obstacle? Admittedly I do not have a lot of knowledge in fan fiction so forgive me if this is a silly question!

    Camille

    PS. It’s amusing that I needed to draw my daisy by hand because I couldn’t get my computer to cooperate and you had the exact opposite problem!

  2. Strangely, I just wrote another comment about fanfiction.
    I love this idea. I find it amusing that you wrote “mainstream perception of YA fanfiction” because I always considered fanfiction to be a bit out of the mainstream! I think it is a great idea though, and perhaps a way in which to get reluctant writers to write.
    portia.

  3. Hey Brooke,

    I wonder does fan fiction only apply to written works, or does it include paintings, drawing and illustrations as well? I ask because, well one of my favorite artists explains it much better, “In this way the illustrations serve the same purpose as they would in a book: to accompany the words and provide one person’s imagining of the scenario being described” (Shitty_Watercolour, 2012). I guess I’m asking if images can be considered a form or literacy when it come to fan fiction, say comics or graphic novels. Also, please pardon the artist’s name.

    Shitty_Watercolour. (2012). Away for a week. Retrieved September 29, 2013, from http://www.reddit.com/r/Shitty_Watercolour/comments/zvewf/away_for_a_week/c69v4k6?context=3

    • Bah,

      I forgot to add, for “non-biased participants” do you think that the anonymity provided through writing online allows for fan fiction writers to write more openly – in a way where their ideas are being judged on their own merits, and not as reflection of who the author is?

      • It is definitely helpful and probably why there is a great deal of well…”questionable” romances? Honestly, that is the nicest way to put some of the items written in fan fiction. On your previous point though, I have been thinking about it in terms of my research project. While the other outlets would be awesome in the long run, I think this first look into the culture needs to be more focused. There are many who work in different fan fiction areas like writing or art at the same time, but most tend to focus in one. Therefore, I will be concentrating on the fan fiction writing culture for this first project foray. I think it is really a nice place for this first exploration as well since I was a fan fiction writer throughout most of high school, meaning I’d be interested in looking into any changes or shifts.

Leave a Reply

