Week 3: bedraggled daisy

It is a magic daisy with a magnetic centre and ferrous petals which may be added and removed at will!

It is a magic daisy with a magnetic centre and ferrous petals which may be added and removed at will!

For this exercise I decided to take on the Doctor Who event I briefly described in my last post, focusing on the impact of online fan communities and social media on the relationships between content creators and their fans (which is at least in part opposed to the old paradigm in which fans are passive consumers of content, whose impact on the media they consume is largely determined by the bums in seats/voting with their feet model). Alas, I still do not have a clear research question – but as I investigate the literature, and rearrange my daisy that should either begin to come into focus, or guide me toward a more fertile topic and/or an area more relevant to the intellectual conversations going on nowadays in library and information science.

7 Comments

Filed under Blogging Question

7 responses to “Week 3: bedraggled daisy

  1. I don’t know if this is relevant, but I’ve always been intrigued by the phenomenon of fan fiction. In a similar vein, I’m often curious who is behind YouTube videos featuring mashups/compilations of their favourite television and movie characters. While these activities are no doubt creative projects, I am curious about motivation behind them. What does this sort of content creation mean?

    • As well, did the creators (those involved directly with Dr. Who) respond at all to the outcry of these fans?
      portia.

      • annastandish

        Hi Portia. I don’t know how I didn’t notice your comment before!
        What got me interested in this event in the first place (and I really should have discussed this more in an earlier post!) was that some of the creators *did* respond, and the end result was a big ball of hurt feelings and poor communication. So, really, what I find intriguing is how ill-suited social-media turned out to be for this kind of fan/creator conversation.

        The best example that jumps to mind: Neil Gaiman, who writes for the show (and who was responsible for the throwaway line that made timelord gender-flipping cannon/official) had an interesting exchange on Tumblr where he tried to defend the party line on the new actor, and it blew up in his face. People got really angry at him, and his response was more or less to take his ball and go home.

  2. vangorpb

    I have quite a few fanfiction scholarly sources rattling around in my laptop, including one that has a bunch of case studies on fandoms like the Harry Potter encyclopedia people.The relationship is really interesting because it is very hard to nail down. As soon as an author makes a declarative statement that they will support fanfiction, they turn on the fan-fiction writers and try to shut down fan sites.

    • annastandish

      Fanfiction is such a fascinating area. I’d be interested in those scholarly sources if you wouldn’t mind sending them my way!

      I remember the HP encyclopedia debacle… any time money gets involved – or someone on the official side of the creative enterprise decides they want to get money involved, fan creators lose out (and/or turn on the fan who starts making money). It’s a pattern that repeats over and over with very few permutations… and not just in literary creation. Recently, Think Geek threw a crowd of fan-creators under the bus when they decided to sell Jayne hats (from Firefly).

  3. Hey Anna,

    I made a small adjustment to your daisy: http://i.imgur.com/Rm6ZHav.jpg

    Geronimi, C., Jackson, W., & Luske, H (Directors).(1951). Alice in Wonderland [Motion Picture]. USA. Walt Disney Studios.

Leave a Reply

