Week 3 – My Bedraggled Daisy

Reflecting on my first blog post last week, particularly on my research interests, I have come to realize that the area I would like to focus on is a common and popular topic that is widely discussed in the variety of sources I have briefly looked at. If anyone does not recall, I would generally like to focus on censorship and impacts on children. I have not done sufficient research to ascertain what exactly has been argued in these papers; therefore, I am not entirely certain if my own research and interests will be reinstating what already has been looked at. While reading Luker’s chapters for this week, I was pleased to be re-introduced to some steps of the research process that I had entirely forgotten from my undergraduate studies, such as the review of literature. This step of the research process will assist me in looking for areas that have not been discussed in pertaining to this topic, and perhaps I could explore fields and disciplines this research could contribute to that I have not thought of before. Even though there might be much discussion and content about censorship, children and intellectual freedom, I have to consider how myself as a researcher can do differently than other researchers. I realize that my background with a Children’s Studies degree can be a start in distinguishing myself. I may consider theories and concepts that I learned in my undergraduate studies that have not been applied to research on this topic. The different sections of my bedraggled daisy can attest to that. For instance, I had written down “adult versus child binary”, which was extensively discussed in my studies.

I still have not decided which direction to take with my research interests as I had two that were different from each other, yet similar with the broad topic of censorship and children in mind. I either wanted my focus to lean towards digital culture or children’s literature. I assume combining these would be too broad. I am leaning more towards digital culture, children and censorship, which I will focus on for my bedraggled daisy.

My attempt at a bedraggled daisy:

Image

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Week 3 – My Bedraggled Daisy

  1. Hi Tracy,

    I think anyone regardless of age should be exposed to uncensored material, so long as they are provided adequate context with regards to that material. Leonard Maltin provided a disclaimer on a number of Disney re-released cartoons in which he said that certain ideas, actions, language and representations were a product of their time. As such we should keep that in mind while watching cartoons, (such as those showing racial stereotypes, animal abuse, drug abuse) knowing that today we would never do such things. Who would argue that a child should not watch a Mickey Mouse cartoon?

    How is censorship of user generated materials being approached? If a child writes a (fiction) story about a violent act, should they be punished for it? In doing so, would be confusing their creativity with intent, and unintentionally teaching them that they should filter their thoughts so that they are acceptable to society? They should stifle their imagination for fear or reprisal. I wonder what Hamlet would have been like if Old Willy had been brought up in such a sterile environment. Nothing much would have happened, would it? Claudius would not have even thought of killing his brother and the rest of the tale would be about Hamlet and Ophila hanging out together, being depressed teenagers and talking about his creepy uncle.

    You mentioned different topics (bullying, sexuality, racism) but have you considered books on the topic of abuse (sexual, emotional, physical)? Is there a stigma attached to taking out these types of books as well. I think that technology is helping to create access both digitally but also with physical materials. Self check out machines make it easier to obtain materials without feeling like you are being judged by library staff, and provide autonomy from parents that may not want their children reading about such things.

    You listed Authority and power, does being on the opposite side of the spectrum create a greater drive for those materials? Rebellion against authority – banned books gaining popularity due to their “banned” status.

    Oh the strange thoughts I have while looking at flowers.

    Maltin, L., Disney, W., Walt Disney Company., Buena Vista Home Entertainment (Firm), & Walt Disney Productions. (2002). Mickey Mouse in black and white: The classic collection.. Burbank, Calif: Buena Vista Home Entertainment.

  2. tracymatos

    Hey Printer,

    You provided so much content for me to think about that I had to read over your comment several times, which I appreciate of course! I really like your example of Disney, or specifically Mickey Mouse, and the underlying issues of this phenomenon, which I have thought about and discussed in many of my courses, but not realizing that this pertains to the issue of censorship. By the way, thank you for mentioning that I should consider topics on abuse, because this is also becoming a major issue that is definitely worth looking into!

    Tracy

Leave a Reply

