Week 6 Blogging Question

I admire writing that is well-formatted. The following are what I believe constitutes good formatting:

-appropriate choice of font

-good sized font and varying sizes of the font when appropriate (e.g., the size of the title is larger than the text)

-selective use of bold, underline, and italics

-the creation of headings to better organize the document

-“white space” – straight text appears too dense, paragraphs break ideas up nicely

-use of bullets when appropriate

I believe that even when an excellent piece of writing is not formatted to please the eye, it will suffer when readers assess their satisfaction with what they’ve read.

I read a great variety of books – classics, contemporary, non-fiction, young adult, etc. I believe that they all contribute to my writing ability as well as inspire me and provide ideas on what to write about.

 

Camille

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Week 6 Blogging Question

  1. Liz

    I agree. Camille.

    I think visual is very important. A good writer must not only have the ability to present well-organized ideas and themes, but also pay close attention to detail. This can enhance the quality and credibility of the writing to the readers.

    By the way, do you think use of colour in academic writing is appropriate? For example: different font colour for headings and title, background colour etc.

    Thank you.

    Liz

  2. Hi Liz,
    Thank you for your comment. You raise an interesting question! I love colour. I use various colours when note-taking – I write with the 4 colours in 1 pen made by BIC. I also use different coloured highlighters. However, I would not attempt to re-write the rules when it comes to academic writing. Black ink is the way to go and I wouldn’t stray from that in case the result was that my work wasn’t taken as seriously or because the colour was somehow distracting. I would be interested to see any examples of academic writing that did incorporate colour. If it were up to me, I would welcome the use of colour in academic writing!

    Camille

  3. Hey Camille and Liz,

    I agree with Camille in that adding colour could cause an academic piece to not be taken as seriously. I even find that when I’m adding diagrams to my papers, or some sort of visual, I change the colour so the visual is black and white. I almost associate colour with child-like activities, which would make me feel like my work is childish.

    I’m assuming it’s useful in some situations (it must be), I just have never come across a situation where I’ve seen it necessary to use colour.

    Can anyone think of a specific context in which adding colour would be useful (not just for decorative purposes)?

    Victoria Grant

    • annastandish

      Hi all,

      I can’t think of any specific examples off the top of my head, but I’d say colour can be a very useful strategy – as long as you’re planning on publishing online or can afford to print in colour (I’d hazard a guess that our associations of black and white with reputable, adult materials has a lot to more to do with the economics of the publishing industry than it has to do with the effectiveness of colour in facilitating the reader comprehension of text). Of course now there is the burgeoning world of infographics where colour is key, and I wonder if, with more digital publishing happening, we might see more use of colour in the future.

      I think colour is a lot like font, in that the more adventurous you are, the more difficult it is to keep the design elements from overpowering the document and distracting the reader from what you’re trying to say. Used well, colour can really help to differentiate one bit of text from another, and lead the eye – if a left-right, top-down reading pattern won’t be the best way to communicate your ideas.

      …Coming from a fine arts background, I can get a little overexcited about colour…

      Anna

Leave a Reply

