Statistics Showed Me How Much Halifax Hated Servicemen from the West

Ok, so, here’s the deal. I have had some experience with statistics. I would not say that I am skilled in them. I’m not sure if I’d even say that I am fully qualified to use them. I have some anxiety when it comes to using statistics. I always feel like I am going to misrepresent the information or ruin the results. With all that said, I still worked with them in some of my past research.

The statistics I worked with were pretty small scale, so it was much less intimidating. I was examining the sentences that were given to the servicemen and civilians found guilty of various crimes to do with rioting after the V.E. Day riots in Halifax. There were a couple of interesting things that became clear through the stats. Number one: even though there were far more civilians who participated in the rioting, there were more servicemen who were convicted. Number two: even when civilians were found guilty of the same crime as a serviceman, the serviceman always got the stricter penalty. Number three: servicemen almost always got the harshest penalty that could be given to them for the crime. Number four: the further West a Serviceman was from, the stricter the penalty.  Three men from the West of Canada were each sentenced to four years imprisonment in a penitentiary for each breaking a window. So, Halifax takes their windows really seriously.

But of course it’s not just the window that made the Haligonians upset enough to look like jerks to the rest of Canada. There were a lot of contributing factors and growing tensions that resulted in these men’s harsh sentences. But don’t worry! Those three got their sentences repealed by Christmas.

And now for something completely different…

…Or is it? There is this data visualization that I find really interesting. Rentfrow, Gosling, Jokela, Stillwell, Kosinski and Potter did an examination of personality clusters across the good old US of A and found that three main personality clusters which can be seen in the visualization. They got responses from approximately 1.6 million people and used five surveys different surveys to collect their data. I guess the reason that I really find this study interesting is because I would have liked to have been a part of it. Well, that and it’s really interesting to look at how the personality clusters shift slowly and flow into one another. Without further ado, a visualization!

(Rentfrow, P.J. et al., 2013, 11)

(Rentfrow, P.J. et al., 2013, 11)

Reference:

Rentfrow, P. J., Gosling, S. D., Jokela, M., Stillwell, D. J., Kosinski, M., & Potter, J. (2013). Divided We Stand: Three Psychological Regions of the United States and Their Political, Economic, Social, and Health Correlates. Journal of Personality and Social Psychology.  doi: 10.1037/a0034434

Leave a comment

Filed under Blogging Question

Leave a Reply

