Week 8 – Stats

I am not sure how significant my statistics revelation is, but it was one moment that cause me to see the world in a new light. In grade twelve I was taking statistics with my brother, both of us in the same class. One day the teacher asked what the chances were that any two people in that class shared the same birthday. My brother raised his hand and said, pretty good (did I mention we are twins?). After the class stopped laughing, our teacher gracefully returned to the lesson, adapting the question to exclude the possibility of twins. It turns out that there was another set of students in the class that shared the same birthday.

It was odd to think that out of all the random chance that put those students into the same class that two of them (excluding myself and brother) would have the same birth date. To me it was like trying to guess what card someone pulled had pulled out from a deck of cards (multiplied by 6) and being correct. I don’t remember exactly what the numbers are, here is the Wikipedia page for those interested in exploring more. The info graphic that I found is a listing of the most common birthdays. How common is yours?

originl

Olivia, F. (May 16, 2013). How common is your birthday? Chart reveals how each date rates [Website]. Retrieved from http://www.dailymail.co.uk/femail/article-2145471/How-common-birthday-Chart-reveals-date-rates.html

Wikipedia. (2013). Birthday problem [Webpage]. Retrieved from http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Birthday_problem

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

