Week 12 – How My Research Question Has Evolved

Hey everyone! Can’t believe this is the end already! To think about how my research topic has evolved, I had to look back at the comments made on my SSHRC program of work and what I had to consider on changing or improving for this research proposal. So, I decided to not focus on CIPA anymore because it’s an American legislation and I don’t want to travel to the U.S. However, I found the topic of Internet censorship really interesting so I decided to focus on Internet censorship within Canada. This is actually an advantage for my research because there is not much literature focusing on this within the Canadian context. So, this research could certainly contribute to the literature that discusses this topic. Other than that, my research topic has not changed all that much.

Looking back at my previous blog posts, I realized that I could not decide if I wanted to take an ethnographic approach with this research. It took me awhile to figure out that this approach may not be best suitable for my research question. The purpose of my question is to hear librarians and children’s voices about how they are affected by Internet censorship. I think interviews are the best way to go about with this research. Also, not many scholars used this approach when discussing this topic, or if they did, they did not include the responses from the participants in their papers, which I intend to do for my own research.

Good luck to everyone on your research proposals and other assignments and see you all next semester!

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Week 12 – How My Research Question Has Evolved

  1. Hey Tracy,

    Depending on what kind of censorship you are interested in, you might want to look at this http://www.techdirt.com/articles/20131201/22105325420/without-anyone-paying-attention-canada-is-about-to-change-its-laws-to-join-acta.shtml

    ACTA is set up to help protect intellectual property which is good, but “intellectual property” is not defined, or vaguely defined which creates a whole bunch of problems. Since the meaning behind intellectual property is so vague anything that you share that could be considered to be copywritten (at any point) you could potentially be breaking the law if you do not get permission from the appropriate channels . This has big impacts for user generated content, especially online. I know you want to study censorship in print materials, but something like ACTA might exacerbate internet censorship. (I am a bit hazzy on ACTA so the above description may not be completely accurate)

    Laurence Lessig speaks about net neutrality and creative commons, would definitely check out some of his work. He’s done some great talks which are available on youtube. I listed one of his Ted talks below.

    Masnick, M. (Dec 2, 2013). Without anyone paying attention, Canada is about to change its laws to support ACTA. Retrieved from http://www.techdirt.com/articles/20131201/22105325420/without-anyone-paying-attention-canada-is-about-to-change-its-laws-to-join-acta.shtml

    Lessig, L. (Nov 15, 2007). Larry Lessig: Laws that choke creativity [Video file]. Retrieved from http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7Q25-S7jzgs

Leave a Reply

